About

Why the name woodenmirror?

w3My maternal grandmother, uMakhulu uNocustom Makalo, had one of those old-fashioned wardrobes. Slap bang in the middle was a full length mirror surrounded by all this chunky wooden splendour that was her wardrobe.

This wooden mirror as I now fondly remember it, is the source of all my vanity and that is the unapologetic truth. Looking at its reflection and really “seeing” myself for the first, I pondered if I was pretty. I was about three and a half at the time and since I was watching myself cry, the answer was a resounding no.

Regardless of this unfavourable discovery, I fell infatuation with the mirror and at that moment I made a vow, which I have broken many times, to never cry in public. So if you have wondered about the thinking behind the name of my blog, now you know.

With nostalgia,
Meka-O

5 thoughts on “Why the name woodenmirror?

    1. Though shall not judge, you sinner! See, I listened and I put my response to your question in “paper” for the whole wide world to see.It was actually a nice trip down the memory lane.

      Like

Leave a Reply

